In the Spirit of Murder, Book 1 of the Claudia Hershey Mystery Series by author Laura BelgraveIn the Spirit of Murder
Pending republication.

When top homicide Detective Claudia Hershey left Cleveland, Ohio to get away from murder and its demanding, erratic hours, she thought she’d found bliss for herself and her daughter in sleepy little Indian Run — a backwards Florida town.

But when a medium turns up dead there on Halloween night, Hershey is thrust into a nightmarish case that reaches from the secretive heart of a psychic community to the powerful corridors of the state Legislature. Unraveling the truth could end her career — maybe even her life.

“Credible and driven, Florida Homicide Detective Claudia Hershey is everything a crime solver should be.”

Diane Capri, New York Times Bestselling Author

“A beguiling mystery from the dark side of the deep south.”

Patrick Lynch, bestselling author of Carriers and Omega

ABOUT THE SERIES: When Detective Lieutenant Claudia Hershey moves from a big city to a small town known for its cattle, agriculture and fishing, she quickly learns that small towns often harbor deadly secrets. But Hershey is resourceful and tough, and presses on in an action-packed series that will keep you up reading into the night.

all three books


Halloween-Jeopardy, a short story A short story soon to be republished that details a terrifying Halloween experience Claudia Hershey faced at age 12 that propelled her into becoming a homicide detective.

Check out this brief video for a visual take on all three books in the Claudia Hershey Mystery Series.